img_7389web

Today starts my new high fat/lower protein way of eating. See blog from yesterday for details. It’s not been a bad day. I haven’t been hungry. The afternoon/evening was a challenge but only because we have houseguests and that entails ‘happy hour’ of nuts/chips/beer/wine – all of which I passed on. Sparkling mineral water was my beverage of the afternoon with good company and visiting as my sustenance. How’s that for turning a potential sticky situation into a positive? :o)

I think the most difficult part of this change will be keeping the protein consumption down. I do love my protein. Typically, I either eat left over protein from the previous nights meal or have a protein shake for breakfast. I’m trying to come up with alternatives to a protein brekkie yet have enough fat to sustain me until lunch without hunger (I hate to be hungry). Today I had chai tea with coconut milk followed by a milk-based cappo a few hours later. About 12 I was starting to feel hunger pangs so I had another tea w/coconut milk which took away the hunger until my lunch was ready. Coconut milk and coconut oil may be the key to me successfully doing this plan. It gives me the fat I need but doesn’t contribute the protein and most importantly, it satisfies my hunger.

At the market today I did buy several ‘new to me’ products….marscapone, greek yogurt & a small can of 4 bean salad. I’ll be testing these out over the next couple days and see what I can create with them. I also grilled some boneless chicken thighs today and packaged them into little baggies. I’ve pretty much only eaten chicken breast over the last several years and I’m finding my taste buds have changed and I enjoy the thighs – they are more juicy and tender – especially the boneless ones.

This is what I’m shooting for:

Protein: 69g
Fat: 121-164g
Net carbs: 34-55g
Minimum caloric intake: 1501
Maximum caloric intake: 1972

6am: Chai Tea, 2 Splenda, 2 1/2 oz coconut milk, 1 coconut mcnugget (1 TBSP co + 1/2 tsp flake coconut)

9:30am: cappuccino (1/2 cup whole milk)

12:30pm: peppermint tea, 2 Splenda, 1 oz coconut milk

1pm: Salad of (1 med cucumber, 1 stalk celery, 1 slice red onion, 7 kalamata olives, 2 Tbsp mayo, capful of vinegar), 62 gms grilled boneless chicken thigh

3:30pm: Chai tea, 2 Splenda, 1 oz coconut milk

7:30pm: 3.5 oz sirloin steak, 1/2 sweet potato, salad (2 cups lettuce, 4 cherry tomatoes, 1 oz Paul Newman dressing), 1 TBSP butter, 1 glass red wine

Calories: 1723
Fat: 125 (67%)
Carbs: 52-11=41 (12%)
Protein: 60 (15%)
Alcohol: 6%

