It’s my 50th birthday today and we’re having a nice celebration tonight so it’s going to be quite a challenge to stay within my ranges. I plan to do my best but no guarantees. I’m going to try to keep the fat high throughout the day in order to keep the hunger down ‘cuz I’m ‘saving’ a lot of my protein & carb content for our dinner (and the wine that I know will be consumed!).

Starting tomorrow, my wine consumption will be drastically reduced. Not only will the house guests be leaving soon, but I just don’t want to be drinking a glass of wine nightly while I’m actively trying to jump start my weight loss. To my mind, the wine is like the protein…..once I’m at my best ‘fighting’ weight, there will most likely be things I’ll add back in but for now, it’s better to subtract them out more often than not.

One of the special things happening tonight for my birthday is that we are popping open a bottle of Grange. For the wine wankers, you’ll know that Grange is a good thing. The rest of us probably think “what’s the big deal?”. For me, it’s a big deal for the two men that I will be sharing this special bottle of wine with so that in turn will make it special for me. I probably won’t taste the difference between it being a GREAT bottle of wine versus a GOOD bottle of wine as I don’t have quite the developed palate that these two ‘common-suers’ have. 🙂

This particular Grange ‘costs’ about $40 per sip – I think it sells for about $800 on the open market right now. Mr. W was given it by Mr. E on his 50th birthday (AGES AGO!) and they have been talking about it since – wondering when the time to open it would be or if they should indeed SELL it. How much love do you think I’m feeling right now that the decision has been made to open it on my 50th? I am indeed loved.

I’m considerably outside my ranges for the day. There is a part of me that wants to beat myself up for not being better but another part of me says to ‘get over your damn self’. I actually did pretty good with keeping my cals to 2400 and the choices I made through out the day were good. I have no regrets – and the wine was FAB!

This is what I’m shooting for:

Protein: 69g
Fat: 121-164g
Net carbs: 34-55g
Minimum caloric intake: 1501
Maximum caloric intake: 1972

And this is what I ended up with:
Protein: 82g (14%)
Fat: 164 (61%)
Net carbs: 63 (12%)
Alcohol: 45 (13%)
Calories: 2412

Food Breakdown:
6AM: coconut mcnugget
7AM: 2 bag chai tea w/2.5 oz coconut milk, 3 splenda
8AM: cappuccino (1/2 cup whole full fat milk)
1PM: 2 cups cabbage slaw w/ 1TBSP mayo, 75 gms chicken thigh, peppermint tea w/2.5oz coconut milk & 2 splenda
3PM: peppermint & camomile tea w/2 splenda tabs
5:30PM: 1 ounce macadamia nuts
7:30PM: BIRTHDAY DINNER: 5 prawns, 4 oz beef fillet, potato casserole (1/2 potato, cream, 1/4 cup shredded cheese), 1 roasted roma tomato, 1 cup mixed berries w/ 1 oz cream, 2 1/2 glass white & 1 glass red wine

