ugh. 10 days in on the Dr. K plan and I decided to weigh and see how it was going. No movement from the random number generator. However, I’m not discouraged. I had Captain L re-run my numbers and we had miscalculated (your macros are based upon your ‘due’ weight, age and how tall you are) so I’ve adjusted my numbers and the protein number is smaller. We’ll see what the rest of the month brings.

As far as the random number generator, my scale is one of those old fashioned dial scales that measures in kilos so basically I need to remove almost 2.5 pounds of fat before the little needle moves one notch. Not the most accurate scale to be sure but since weighing makes me crazy, I’ve never invested in one of those new-fangled high-tech scales. HOWEVER, the gym has one of the scales that measures body fat and all the other numbers so I’m open to weighing every 2 weeks on their scale – simply because I do believe it is important when you are changing your WOE to track this information. So, tomorrow I’ll hopefully be able to find one of the attendants who can run my numbers on the scale and I’ll have a starting point for weight and my correct macros. I’ve decided to move to month 2 of Dr. K’s plan though because I believe I am already fat-adapted (which is what month one basically does). This means less protein and more fat.

This WOE is really working for me. I am enjoying having more carbs (about 40 net per day average), I am not missing the protein (much) and the increased fat is not causing me any problems. I’m not hungry for the most part. There are two great threads over at Low Carb Forum (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=394349 and http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=394198) about Dr. Kwasniewski’s Optimal Diet if anyone is interested in learning more about it.

I’m not hungry tonight. I could easily NOT eat dinner but then I’d be way too low on both fat and protein for the day.

Tried a new coconut Mcnugget combination today. Basically, I added butter and vanilla extract. It adds a nice flavor and ups the amount of fat per nugget. Here’s the recipe:
3/4 Cup coconut oil
1/4 cup butter
1 capful vanilla extract
3 packets Splenda
3 TBSP unsweetened cocoa
40 gms unsweetened dried coconut flakes

Melt and mix first 5 ingredients. Divide coconut flakes into 12 spots in candy tin. Pour liquid over coconut flakes. Place in frig or freezer to harden.

Calories: 189
Fat: 19g
Carb: 0.67g
Protein: 0.6g

This is what I’m shooting for:
2nd month guidelines:
Protein: 46-57g
Fat: 137-194g
Net carbs: 34-46g
Minimum caloric intake: 1553
Maximum caloric intake: 2158

And this is what I ended up with:
Protein: 48g
Fat: 148g
Net carbs: 42g
Alcohol: 15g
Calories: 1858

Food Breakdown:
6AM: 2 Coconut McNugget (1 TBSP CO, 1/2 tsp unsweetened coconut, 1/4 tsp unsweetened cocoa), peppermint tea w/ 2 splenda

9:30AM: cappuccino (1/2 cup whole milk), 50 gm mascarpone cheese, 90 gms Greek yogurt, 75 gms unsweetened frozen raspberries

11:30AM: peppermint tea w/ 2 splenda & 1.5 oz coconut milk

1PM: 1 raw red pepper, 1 stalk celery, 50 gms tzatziki dip, peppermint tea w/2splenda & 1.5 oz coconut milk

7PM: 3 small grilled lamb chops (5 oz cooked), salad (2C lettuce, 3 cherry tomato, 1 TBSP Paul Newman dressing), 4 oz Pinot Noir, cream cheese dessert (2 oz whipped cream cheese, 1 Splenda, 1 oz macadamia nuts, vanilla)

